From the Jump (Paperback)

From the Jump By Lacie Waldon Cover Image

From the Jump (Paperback)

List Price: $17.00
Our Price: $16.00
(Save: $1.00 6%)
On Our Shelves Now
1 on hand, as of Sep 24 7:03pm
(Fiction General)
A chronic yes-woman finally admits to what—and who—she really wants in this unforgettable and heartfelt romantic comedy, by the author of The Layover.

Liv Bakersfield is used to living her life in “shoulds.” Be fit. Be financially responsible. Be your best self. An overworked graphic designer, she’s stretched so thin that she’s about to miss yet another vacation with her beloved group of college friends. But when Liv finally decides to start saying no, it feels good…good enough to leap straight into quitting her job and hopping on a plane to join them in South Africa.
 
Amid the exotic landscape and unforgettable sights, Liv expects sun and safari animals and an easy time with her best friends. But such close proximity makes everything more complicated, especially with the emotionally unavailable Lucas Deiss. Their friendship is the only thing in her life that's still solid, and she vows to do anything she can to keep the group together. But once they get back to LA, Liv discovers that her leap of faith has become a freefall, sending her crashing into Deiss's arms. With the trust of the people she loves most on the line, Liv must decide between doing what she should … and risking everything for what she shouldn’t want.
Lacie Waldon is a writer with her head in the clouds--literally. A flight attendant based in Los Angeles, CA., Waldon spends her days writing from the jump seat and searching the world for new stories. She is also the author of The Layover.
 
Product Details ISBN: 9780593328279
ISBN-10: 0593328272
Publisher: G.P. Putnam's Sons
Publication Date: July 19th, 2022
Pages: 352
Language: English
One of Fortune's 10 New Page-Turning Novels for Summer
One of Reader's Digest's 30 Most-Anticipated Books of 2022

One of Country Living's Best Beach Reads of 2022

"Waldon follows up the success of The Layover with an entertaining friends-to-lovers story set in Los Angeles and on a South African safari.” —Booklist

"A contemporary friends-to-lovers romance with secrets, high drama, and strong elements of found family, proving that relationships, both romantic and platonic, are a choice you never stop making." —Library Journal

"Waldon charts Liv’s epiphany and eventual transformation with convincing attention to detail....[A] comforting romance that bolsters faith in the power of friendship." —Kirkus Reviews

"Waldon's novel is a quick and fun read that's hard to put down. If you thought her debut book The Layover was great, then you're sure to love this one too." —USA Today

"This winning friends-to-lovers romance….is charming and believable and the group’s vacation will delight armchair travelers. Fans of Susan Mallery and Jill Shalvis should snap this up." —Publishers Weekly

"You’re going to want to add this lighthearted read to your summer reading list."Reader's Digest

"Waldon is the name to watch on the romantic-comedy scene. With off-the-charts sexual tension and exceptional emotional payoff, her books have quickly made their way to the top of my auto-buy list.” —Lauren Layne, author of Blurred Lines

"An escapist and empowering read. I loved following Liv’s journey to open her mind—and her heart—to new opportunities. From the Jump is the perfect book for anyone who’s struggled to step outside their comfort zone.” —Rachel Lynn Solomon, author of Weather Girl

"Funny, romantic and exquisitely written, From The Jump will fill your heart with joy. I absolutely loved it." —Katy Birchall, author of The Secret Bridesmaid

"Swoony, funny, and full of heart, From The Jump is a beautiful tale that celebrates the power of friendship and the paths that lead us to self discovery. A perfect friends-to-lovers beach read!" —Ali Hazelwood, author of The Love Hypothesis

"From the wild, wonderful landscapes of South Africa to the sun-soaked streets of Southern California, From the Jump captivates with its true-to-life friendships, empowering journey of self discovery, and a swoon-worthy romance that left me grinning for days. Lacie Waldon delivers yet another heart-tingling delight!" —Angie Hockman, author of Shipped

"A compelling story about how friendships, family, love and dreams evolve with this adventure we call life, and how all it takes is one brave step to change our lives for the better. With gorgeous transportive prose, witty banter, and swoon-worthy chemistry, From the Jump is a perfect vacation must-read!" —Samantha Young, author of On Dublin Street

"Filled with heart, evolving friendships, and the most delicious slow-burn, sexual-tension filled friends-to-lovers story, From the Jump will captivate readers. Liv's journey as she slowly sheds her 'perfect' skin and learns to become comfortable being her perfectly imperfect self is relatable and incredibly rewarding. You'll want to both devour this book in a night and slow down to savor it and keep it from ending." —Sara Goodman Confino, author of For The Love of Friends