Reckless Girls: A Novel (Hardcover)

Pre-Order Now Badge
Reckless Girls: A Novel Cover Image

Reckless Girls: A Novel (Hardcover)

$27.99


Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

From Rachel Hawkins, the New York Times bestselling author of The Wife Upstairs, comes Reckless Girls, a deliciously wicked gothic suspense, set on an isolated Pacific island with a dark history, for fans of Lucy Foley and Ruth Ware.

ONE ISLAND

Beautiful, wild, and strange—Meroe Island is a desolate spot in the middle of the Pacific Ocean with a mysterious history of shipwrecks, cannibalism, and even rumors of murder. It’s the perfect destination for the most adventurous traveler to escape everything... except the truth.

SIX VISITORS

Six stunning twentysomethings are about to embark on a blissful, free-spirited journey—one filled with sun-drenched days and intoxicating nights. But as it becomes clear that the group is even more cut off from civilization than they initially thought, it starts to feel like the island itself is closing in, sending them on a dangerous spiral of discovery.

COUNTLESS SECRETS

When one person goes missing and another turns up dead, the remaining friends wonder what dark currents lie beneath this impenetrable paradise—and who else will be swept under its secluded chaos. With its island gothic sensibility, sexy suspense, and spine-tingling reimagining of an Agatha Christie classic, Reckless Girls will wreck you.

Rachel Hawkins is the New York Times bestselling author of The Wife Upstairs, as well as multiple books for young readers, and her work has been translated in over a dozen countries. She studied gender and sexuality in Victorian literature at Auburn University and currently lives in Alabama.
Product Details ISBN: 9781250274250
ISBN-10: 1250274257
Publisher: St. Martin's Press
Publication Date: January 4th, 2022
Pages: 320
Language: English

Praise for Reckless Girls:

"This diabolically plotted nail-biter makes for dangerously addictive reading"––Publishers Weekly

"Evocative prose and a palpably foreboding atmosphere complement Lux’s present-tense narration, which Hawkins studs with flashbacks exposing the secrets, lies, and betrayals that brought each character to this point. Danger and interpersonal drama abound, with a slew of outrageous twists adding to the fun. A soapy, claustrophobic page-turner."––Kirkus

"Like its seductive island setting, Rachel Hawkins’ sharp and feral Reckless Girls is a shimmering mirage of a novel that tantalizes from page one. Perfectly crafted and compulsively readable, each twist in this gripping tale of trust and survival is a gift just waiting to be unwrapped." –– Katherine St. John, author of The Lion's Den

"Sharp and taut with a slow burning tension that builds into an inferno, Reckless Girls takes the reader to remote Meroe Island. Beautiful, desolate, and sinister, six friends must grapple with secrets uncovered, guilt and grief, and a desperate fight to survive. Reckless Girls is a thriller worth staying up all night to finish."––Julie Clark, New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of The Last Flight

"When six adventurous twenty-somethings set sail for a South Pacific Island in Rachel Hawkins’ un-put-downable new thriller, you might wish you were on board with them. That is, until the secrets they’ve packed expose themselves, the island turns menacing, and it suddenly becomes clear there’s a killer in paradise. Forget an early night. As the body count mounts in this fresh and riveting take on Agatha Christie’s And Then There Were None, you’ll tear breathlessly through the pages and won’t stop until you reach the stunning, jaw-dropping conclusion, one that makes you ask, 'Can anyone ever be trusted?'"––Kate White, New York Times bestselling author of The Fiancée

Praise for The Wife Upstairs:

“Compulsively readable...a gothic thriller laced with arsenic.” ––EW

"A Southern Gothic twist on Jane Eyre that’s full of suspense, twists and turns...the story of this twisted love triangle will have you on the edge of your seat all the way until the end." ––CNN

“A delightfully surprising and suspenseful twist on Jane Eyre."––Newsweek

"Consider us enthralled." ––The Skimm

“A clever page-turner...this modern Gothic novel proves that creaky houses that harbor big secrets never go out of style.” ––Oprahmag.com

“A delicious thriller that you'll likely want to read in a single sitting.” ––TimeOut

“A thrilling, suspenseful tale of will-they-or-won't-they that will keep you on the edge.” ––Woman’s Day

“Read to find out whether either of them can ever escape their secrets, or if their forbidden tryst is doomed to failure.” ––Good Housekeeping